IT Governance Training Certifications

IT Governance delivers a wide range of training courses across information security, business continuity, IT governance and service management.

The value of training certifications

Qualifications awarded by accredited and respected organisations are an essential requirement of any IT governance professional. With an ever-increasing demand for qualified staff, most employers offer enhanced career opportunities to candidates who have certified qualifications and relevant experience.

IT Governance delivers a unique and unrivalled portfolio of training courses and examinations leading to accredited qualifications awarded by IBITGQ (International Board for IT Governance Qualifications), BCS Professional Certification, ISACA®, EC-Council, APMG-International and Microsoft.

Accredited to ISO 17024 – the international gold standard for IT qualifications

Training qualifications that are accredited to the ISO/IEC 17024:2012 standard (Conformity assessment – General requirements for bodies operating certification of persons) are recognised and highly valued by employers globally.

Compliance with ISO 17024 requires that accredited certifications will:

  • Meet a global, industry-recognised benchmark;
  • Be consistent, comparable and reliable worldwide;
  • Demonstrate that holders have the necessary knowledge and skills; and
  • Be validated to ensure they are recognised by employers and peers.

Certificates awarded by other exam bodies

The nature and complexity of the IT industry has created hundreds of training courses and qualifications over the years. Many are hardware or software-vendor-specific, and – in the context of training staff to configure and operate these products – provide a perfectly adequate demonstration of knowledge and skills. They are, however, often linked to the purchase of products and, as such, are subject to the commercial bias of a very competitive IT marketplace. Independent and accredited exam bodies such as IBITGQ, ISACA, (ISC)² and BCS have been created both to counteract this bias and provide consistent and comparable qualifications on an international basis.

There are also many organisations that deliver training and award their own qualifications associated with international IT standards and regulations such as ISO 27001, ISO 22301, the PCI DSS and the GDPR. These include certification bodies such as BSI and LRQA, which, while fully accredited to audit and certificate ISO standards, are not accredited to standards such as ISO 17024.

IT Governance Ltd is proud to be partnered with the following exam bodies:

International Board for IT Governance Qualifications (IBITGQ)

IBITGQ is a personnel certification body dedicated to providing global training and certificated qualifications to information security, cyber security, data privacy, business resilience and IT governance professionals.

IBITGQ specifies the syllabus and learning outcomes required for the training courses and exams associated with IBITGQ qualifications. It is also responsible for appointing accredited training organisations (ATOs), which develop their training material to meet the requirements of each syllabus. GASQ (Global Association for Software Quality) is an independent examination body that administers exams, accredits trainers, and issues certificates on behalf of IBITGQ.

IBITGQ is accredited to the ISO/IEC 17024:2012 standard (Conformity assessment – General requirements for bodies operating certification of persons) by IAS (International Accreditation Service).

All IBITGQ training courses are created by IT Governance, which is IBITGQ’s lead training development partner and ATO in the UK. Many of these courses are in the unique ISO 27001 Roles Learning Path, created by leading ISO 27001 experts Alan Calder and Steve Watkins. This pathway includes the Certified ISO 27001 ISMS Foundation course and our internationally renowned Certified ISO 27001 ISMS Lead Implementer and Lead Auditor courses.

BCS Professional Certification

With a global reputation, this membership organisation is committed to providing flexible learning, rigorous assessment and qualifications that show employers and customers that certificate holders have achieved industry-recognised benchmarks in relevant skills and competence.

Our BCS courses include the Certificate in Information Security Management Principles (CISMP) training course.


As an independent, not-for-profit association, ISACA engages in the development, adoption, and use of globally accepted, industry-leading knowledge and practices for information systems.

ISACA certifications are among the most highly regarded must-have qualifications for building a senior management career in information security, IT audit and IT governance.

Our ISACA courses include the CISA, CISM, CRISC and CGEIT training courses.


The International Council of E-Commerce Consultants, also known as EC-Council, is the world’s largest cyber security technical certification body. It operates in 145 countries and has trained more than 200,00 information professionals worldwide.

Our EC-Council courses include the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) training course.


APMG-International is an award-winning examination institute that accredits professional training and consulting organisations, and manages certification schemes for knowledge-based workers.

Our APMG training portfolio includes the COBIT 5 Foundation and ISO 20000 Practitioner training courses.


IT Governance is an approved Microsoft Global Training Partner and our experienced MCT (Microsoft Certified Trainers) deliver a comprehensive portfolio of Microsoft 365, Azure and specialist cyber security training courses.

This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy
SAVE 10%