CISMP - Certificate in Information Security Management Principles

What is CISMP?

The Certificate in Information Security Management Principles (CISMP) is an established and internationally recognised foundation-level qualification that demonstrates good knowledge of information security management. 

Who is CISMP for?

CISMP is widely regarded as the ‘qualification of choice’ for IT professionals, and is recognised across the UK as an essential first rung on the ladder to a successful career in information security.

It is particularly valuable to those working in the public sector, as it is part of the CESG Certified Professional (CCP) scheme - the government’s approved standard of competence for cyber security. 

The CISMP qualification is also suitable for business professionals who require a deeper understanding of information security as part of their wider business knowledge.

What will you learn?

The CISMP training course will equip you with an understanding of the key areas involved in information security management, including risk management, legal frameworks, business continuity, security standards (like ISO 27001), people and physical security.

View the full BCS syllabus for CISMP

CISMP Training Course

Book your place on the CISMP training course today

Understand the principles of information security and achieve an industry-recognised qualification in just one week with this specialist led course.

The CISMP course provides a base level of knowledge suitable for progression towards the CISSP® and CISM® examinations.

Book now

CISMP benefits

  • Kick-start your career: CISMP provides the perfect starting point for a career in information security, upon which more technical qualifications can be built.
  • Break down the barriers to success: CISMP has no formal entry requirements and is open to anyone with an interest in information security.
  • Earn a coveted qualification: CISMP is widely regarded as the ‘qualification of choice’ for IT professionals who wish to develop a career in information security management.

Get CISMP qualified with IT Governance

To achieve the CISMP qualification, you must pass a two-hour multiple-choice exam.

You can learn everything you need to know to pass the exam by enrolling on our CISMP Training Course

This five-day course is delivered by an experienced cyber security consultant, who will teach you the ins and outs of information security management.

You will sit the exam on the final day, and those who pass will gain the CISMP qualification.

The course is proven to be highly effective. A survey of our past attendees found that:

  • 88% would recommend the course to a colleague or friend
  • 93% were happy with the instructor’s style and presentation skills
  • 89% were satisfied with the course’s content
  • 87% were satisfied with the pace of the course.

Get CISMP qualified

Why choose IT Governance for your CISMP training?

Next steps – advance your career

With a 96% pass rate, our CISMP training course will provide you with a base level of knowledge suitable for future progression towards the CISSP and CISM examinations.


Cyber security for executive management live online training

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification has become a prerequisite for anyone developing a senior career in information security.

Learn more


Cyber Security Foundation Training Course

The Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) qualification is a globally accepted standard of achievement among information security professionals.

Learn more

Get in touch

If you’re an IT professional looking to advance your career with the CISMP qualification but have some questions, call our training team on 44 1474 556685, or request a call back using the form below. Our experts are ready and waiting with practical advice.

Contact us

This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy
WIN £100