CGEIT - Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT


Develop your career with a qualification in IT

If you’re looking to advance your career as an IT professional and build on your skillset, then professional certification is for you. Speak to one of our training experts for more information on our range of certification courses.

The CGEIT qualification

The CGEIT (Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT) qualification, awarded by ISACA®, demonstrates that holders have the expert knowledge and experience necessary to support the governance of enterprise IT. This ensures that an organisation’s IT is governed from the top, and therefore aligned with business needs and goals.

The certification was designed for professionals with significant management experience relating to GEIT and is recognised across the world as one of the information security industry’s premier qualifications.

CGEIT Classroom Training Course

Book your place on the CGEIT training course today 

Our CGEIT training course has been designed to provide a complete preparation for the ISACA CGEIT exam and ensure you pass at your first attempt.

Book now

What are the requirements for the CGEIT qualification?

The CGEIT certification is awarded to candidates with at least five years of relevant work experience, who pass a rigorous written examination.

ISACA defines four CGEIT domains on which you will be examined:

  • Domain 1: Governance of Enterprise IT (40% of exam)
  • Domain 2: IT Resources (15% of exam)
  • Domain 3: Benefits Realization (26% of exam)
  • Domain 4: Risk Optimization (19% of exam)

You can find more information about the four domains on the ISACA website.

How do you pass the CGEIT exam at the first attempt?

  1. Check that you have the relevant five years of work experience to qualify, or you are able to gain this experience within the next five years.
  2. Purchase your training and exam here.
  3. Register and schedule your exam with ISACA.
  4. Plan a self-study programme that covers all key knowledge domains.
  5. Attend our four-day CGEIT Exam Preparation Training Course 2-4 weeks before you sit the exam.

How to register for and schedule the CGEIT exam

The CGEIT exam is offered via a computer-based testing (CBT) session, which is available online or at a PSI exam centre all year round. All candidates must first register online directly with ISACA. They will then receive email instructions on how to schedule an exam appointment.

Continuing Professional Education

The CGEIT CPE (continuing professional education) policy aims to ensure that all CGEITs maintain an adequate level of knowledge and proficiency by attaining and reporting 20 CPE hours a year.

In addition, a minimum of 120 contact hours are required during a fixed three-year period. Failing to comply with these requirements will result in your CGEIT designation being revoked.

See the Maintain CGEIT Certification page on the ISACA website for further details.

Get in touch

If you are an IT professional looking to advance your career with the CGEIT qualification but have some questions, call our training team on +44 1474 556685, or request a call back using the form below. Our experts are ready and waiting with practical advice.

Contact us

SAVE 25%