This website uses cookies. View our cookie policy
United Kingdom
Select regional store:

TOGAF – The Open Group Architecture Framework

The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) is an enterprise architecture framework that provides processes and procedures for the design, planning, implementation and governance of enterprise architecture. TOGAF has been in existence since the early 1990s, created by The Open Group. The current version of TOGAF is version 9. Buy TOGAF 9 here.

The main goal TOGAF 9 is to align the organisation's strategy and IT investments with the core goals of the organisation; leading to improved performance and process optimisation. On this page learn about TOGAF certification and the benefits it can bring.

On this page:

Benefits of TOGAF

TOGAF’s enterprise architecture approach could be said to be very similar to that of business process modelling, which provides methods for the planning and/or re-design of an organisation’s processes. More in-depth information on business process modelling (BPM) can be found in the books available on the IT Governance online store.

The advantages of using the TOGAF approach are that it provides:

  • A process for designing an information system in terms of a set of building blocks.
  • Details of how these building blocks interact and fit together.
  • Establishes a common vocabulary for use in the design, implementation and governance, etc. of enterprise architecture.
  • Includes a list of recommended standards to use with the organisation’s enterprise architecture.
  • Contains a set of structured and rigorous methods for the implementation and governance of enterprise architecture.

For more information on the key advantages of the TOGAF approach, or for more general implementation guidance we recommend these titles:

  • TOGAF Version 9 The Official Manual
  • TOGAF Version 9 A Pocket Guide
  • TOGAF Version 9 Foundation Study Guide
  • Visit our TOGAF online store

TOGAF Certification

IT architects or professionals can gain an individual certification in TOGAF and become TOGAF 9 certified. There are no prerequisites for taking the exam.

The TOGAF 9 certification exam is made up 101 multiple choice questions with a pass mark of 71% (71 of 101 questions). The time allowed for the exam is 120 minutes.

If you are studying for the TOGAF 9 examination and are looking for a study guide to aid your preparation, The Open Group in collaboration with Van Haren Publishing have released the TOGAF Version 9 Study Guide. This is the official tool for anyone taking the TOGAF 9 examination.

TOGAF examinations are administered by Prometric, which has hundreds of examination centres worldwide at which individuals can take the examination. To schedule a test, or to locate a test centre, please visit the Prometric website.