Will you be looking to become a PRINCE2 Practitioner?

AXELOS®, the owners of the PRINCE2® project management methodology, have announced that, from Tuesday 1 July 2014, they will waive the Foundation-level qualification requirement for those wishing to become PRINCE2 Practitioners.

From the above date, AXELOS will recognise certain qualifications from specific organisations when you apply to sit the PRINCE2 Practitioner exam.

AXELOS intends to recognise qualifications from the Project Management Institute (PMI)® and the International Project Management Association (IPMA). These qualifications are:

Project Management Institute (PMI)

  • Project Management Professional (PMP)®
  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®

International Project Management Association (IPMA)

  • IPMA Level A® (Certified Projects Director)
  • IPMA Level B® (Certified Senior Project Manager)
  • IPMA Level C® (Certified Project Manager)
  • IPMA Level D® (Certified Project Management Associate)

AXELOS say that this means project managers will have more direct access to the higher level PRINCE2 Practitioner qualification without having to revisit a more elementary level of study beforehand.

Want to take the PRINCE2 Practitioner exam?

If you want to take the PRINCE2 Practitioner exam, you first need to study using the official PRINCE2 manual and other official AXELOS books in the PRINCE2 family of publications. We recommend the PRINCE2 2009 Study and Review Package, which contains most of the official books you need to study in order to pass the PRINCE2 Practitioner exam at the first attempt.

We would also recommend taking a PRINCE2 Practitioner e-learning course.

If you have one of the PMI or IPMA qualifications above, why not become a PRINCE2 Practitioner?