Why you need ITIL 4 Foundation training

With some 5 million certified professionals, ITIL® is the most widely used ITSM (information technology service management) framework in the world.

The latest iteration – ITIL 4 – was released by AXELOS® in February 2019. It’s a completely new approach to ITSM, which requires practitioners to update their knowledge with new qualifications.

This blog provides a high-level overview of the new ITIL framework and explains how you can gain the necessary new qualifications.

What’s new in ITIL 4?

ITIL 4 builds on ITIL v3, which was last updated in 2011, by introducing the SVS (service value system).

Recognising that value is co-created by IT service providers and consumers, the SVS has been designed to help IT teams create, deliver and operate technical products and services that fit the wider business strategy.

The SVS is supported by seven guiding principles, which reflect those found in Agile, DevOps and Lean methodologies:

  1. Focus on value
  2. Start where you are
  3. Progress iteratively with feedback
  4. Collaborate and promote visibility
  5. Think and work holistically
  6. Keep it simple and practical
  7. Optimize and automate

It also incorporates four dimensions and a service value chain comprising six activities.

ITIL certification

A comprehensive personal certification scheme helps candidates understand and operate ITSM through ITIL 4’s operating model.

Where ITIL v3 had five certification levels, ITIL 4 has four:

  • Foundation
  • MP (Managing Professional)
  • SL (Strategic Leader)
  • Master

The first level, ITIL 4 Foundation, was launched on 28 February 2019.

There is some overlap between the MP and SL designation streams. To attain either designation, learners must complete the Foundation stage, and then complete the following modules:

ITIL Managing Professional

  • ITIL Specialist: Create, Deliver & Support
  • ITIL Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL Specialist: High Velocity IT
  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve

ITIL Strategic Leader

  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve
  • ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy

Once you have completed both the MP and SL designation streams, you can study to become an ITIL Master.

More information about these higher certification levels will be released later this year.

Transitioning from ITIL v3 to ITIL 4 certification

There are two options open to you, depending on how far you’ve got with your ITIL v3 study.

  1. If you are studying for ITIL v3 Foundation or are already certified, you should take ITIL 4 Foundation to be able to transition to the new certification scheme.
  2. If you are a certified ITIL v3 Expert, or have at least 17 ITIL v3 Intermediate or Practitioner credits, you can take the module when it is released later this year.

ITIL 4 Foundation Training Course: book your place today

IT Governance’s three-day ITIL 4 Foundation course provides an introduction to the new ITIL framework.

It delivers the key facts on ITIL 4 terminology, structure and concepts, and provides essential preparation for the included PeopleCert exam.

Learn more and book your place on the ITIL 4 Foundation Training Course >>