What is CISA?

What is CISA?

CISA stands for Certified Information Systems Auditor and has been achieved by  over 87,000 professionals worldwide. The certification is to certify those in the information technology field who audit, control, monitor and assess an organisation’s information technology and business systems.   

CISA is a certification that is recognised worldwide and can also greatly improve your job prospects as it is deemed by professionals as one of the “highest paying and sought after IT certifications”. Many businesses and organisations now require their staff to hold this qualification, so if you are in the sector of auditing, then this would be a certification to aim for. 

CISA Certification

Step 1: Register for the exam. The exam is open to all those delegates who have an interest in information systems audit, control and security. The exam is held twice a year, in 12 languages, and in more than 240 different locations.

Step 2: Prepare for the exam. There are  official reading materials and study guides out there specifically designed to help you prepare for the exam. More preparation will mean a better chance of you passing the exam.

Step 3. Take the exam. The exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions to be answered within a four-hour session. The exam takes place only twice a year  (June and December) and the questions are changed accordingly.

Step 4: Apply for Certification. Once passing the exam, you then need to submit an application for certification. To apply for certification, you will need a minimum of 5 years experience in a professional information systems environment, however there are some exceptions. Therefore it is extremely important that you make sure you have all the right credentials before you register for the exam as certification won’t be awarded until all the requirements are met.

CISA Exam Resources

As with any exam, you want to make sure you go in prepared. ISACA (who runs the CISA certification programme) has published a number of official study guides for the exam.

The CISA Review Manual 2011 is the official study guide for those taking the exam in 2011 and contains sample practice questions and explanations of the answers. The manual is split into 5 chapters and includes a reference guide and suggested resources for further study.

Read more on the CISA Review Manual 2011 >>

The CISA Review Questions, Answers & Explanations Manual 2011 is also published by ISACA and is another official study manual for those taking the CISA exam this year. It contains 900 multiple-choice questions with detailed explanations of the correct answers.

Read more on the CISA Review Questions, Answers & Explanations Manual 2011 >>

Most people buy both of these official study manuals together in our CISA Exam Passport. Buying both manuals together will save you €42.05.

Save money and buy both the official study manuals together in our CISA Exam Passport >>