ITIL simplified into bite-size chunks

For those new to IT Service Management (ITSM), ITIL can seem a daunting term. What does it stand for? Who came up with the idea? Who uses it and why? Should you adopt it?

Well, let’s start with the basics…

ITIL Definition

ITIL stands for the Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It is a management framework for delivering IT services that are aligned with the requirements of the end user to deliver value.

The set of topics and concepts, which are best practice for ITSM, are condensed into 5 books, collectively known as the ITIL (2011) Lifecycle Publication Suite.

Authored by the Office of Government Commerce (now known as the Cabinet Office), this suite of books is core to anyone adopting ITIL into their organisation.

The Lifecycle suite does just what it says on the tin, err…I mean cover! It reflects the natural lifecycle of service management, covering strategy, design, transition, operation and continual improvement.

ITIL brings many benefits to your business, including: improved efficiency, reduction in IT costs and a better management of resources.

ITIL (2011) is the most current version of ITIL (as of May 2013). There have been three other versions in the past, but it is best to use and learn from any books or guidance as of the most current version.

ITIL is recognised worldwide.

You can gain certifications in ITIL to prove your credibility, including ITIL Foundation, Intermediate Level, Managing Across the Lifecycle, Expert Level and Master Qualification.

For more information about ITIL, download our ITIL white paper >>

If you have any more bite-size chunks about ITIL that you’d like to add to this post, please leave your comments below.


Share now…

Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn