This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Jump to navigation

ITIL® Books: Official ITIL 2011 library and supplementary titles

ITIL was updated in the summer of 2011. It remains the leading best practice framework for IT service management.

Below you can read more about the official ITIL 2011 books and the framework itself.

What is on this page:

ITIL Lifecycle Publication Suite

Learn more

What is ITIL?

The Information technology Infrustructure Library (ITIL) is the most widely used approach for IT service management in the world. It provides a practical framework for identifying, planning, delivering and supporting IT services. ITIL advocates that IT services must be aligned to the needs of the business and underpin the core business processes. It provides guidance to organisations on how to use IT as a tool to facilitate business change, transformation and growth.

ITIL provides an overall approach to the full lifecycle of services, covering the entire IT organisation and all the supporting components that are required to deliver services to the customer.

The ITIL Library is made up of five core books which make up the ITIL Lifecycle Publication Suite (available in various formats).

ITIL Lifecycle Suite

The Lifecycle Publication contains the five core ITIL books, which are designed to be read together:

Service Strategy

Service Strategy contains the majority of the 2011 updates. It gives detailed strategic guidance on how to design, implement and manage service management, covering:


Service Design

Service Design gives guidance on the design and development of services and service management processes. It covers:


Service Transition

Service Transition gives guidance on the transition of new or changed service into operation. It covers:


Service Operation

Service Operation is the volume within the Lifecycle Publication Suite that gives guidance on the delivery of IT services on a day-to-day basis. It includes guidance on achieving effectiveness and efficiency in the delivery and support of services. It covers:


Continual Service Improvement

Continual Service Improvement deals with the evaluation and improvement of services. It gives in-depth guidance on evaluating and improving the quality of services, overall maturity of the ITSM services and their underlying processes. It covers:


Supplementary Guidance

Through our in-house publishing business (ITGP), we create innovative supplementary titles to compliment the core books and to help delegates to pass the Foundation Exam.

Our ITIL and ITSM books cover everything from passing the ITIL Foundation examination and taking your first steps into an ITIL workplace, to IT service metrics, ITIL process management and ISO/IEC 20000, the international standard for ITSM.

Working in partnership with itSMF USA , we co-publish the Thought Leadership Series, providing the latest best practice for ITSM and ITIL from highly experienced ITSM practitioners.

We also publish documentation / implementation ‘toolkits’ to help organisations save time, costs and resources as they adopt ITIL and achieve compliance for ISO/IEC 20000.

See the full range of ITIL books right now in our bookstore >>


ITIL: Service Strategy

Buy now

+44 (0) 845 070 1750
live chat support software